I love bringing new people on new adventures. Or is it old adventures? Disney World is my home, and sharing it with people I love is one of my favorite things; which is why when four of the staff women decided to spend a day at Magic Kingdom I gladly hopped on board! I’ve never done a full day at Disney before, so I definitely overestimated my ability to Disney. We got there right when the park opened at 8 am, and naturally took a few great castle selfies before going off to our first rides. The lines are shortest in the morning, so on the way to our first fastpass,  we managed to catch a few short lines, including The Many IMG_6250Adventures of Winnie the Pooh! We bounced with Tigger, fought off some Heffalumps, and then made our way to Space Mountain! What better way to start off the day than with a thrill of a space trip?

 

Once adrenaline was coursing through our veins, we used the energy to hike back across the park to our next Fastpass- meeting Cinderella and Rapunzel! This was an adventure I hadn’t gotten to do last summer, so I was over the moon to meet two of my favorite princesses. Cinderella was poised and elegant as always, and so patient as we each asked for an individual photo and then a group one. Punz was similarly elegant and of course so happy to see all of us.

Satisfied and excited to have met some of the greats, we checked wait times again and saw that the line was short for another one of the greats – Belle! We got in line for Enchanted Tales- another adventure I had missed- and within 30 minutIMG_6317es we were in an incredible story. If you’ve ever had the thought, “Enchanted Tales with Belle sounds silly, it’s probably only for little kids,” that thought is a LIE. It was so much fun! Lumiere helps you tell the story of how Belle and the Beast met, and when it’s ready, Belle comes in and watches the whole thing! (Okay, I admit I didn’t make it sound that exciting or fun for adults, but you get to meet Belle at the end and it’s so worth it!)

After that is was time for lunch, and where better to eat a midday meal than at the Beast’s castle?? That’s right; we had reservations at Be Our Guest! We dined in the grand ballroom, and I got to watch my new friends fangirl over the magic of it all. The food was as good as always, we tried the grey stuff (it was delicious, ask the dishes), and then we toured the whole restaurant before heading out for Festival of Fantasy!

The Festival of Fantasy Parade is one of my absolute favorite attractions at Disney World. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen it, I’ll always get giddy to see all of my favorite characters pass by on their floats. I sang and danced, I put it all on my snapstory, and the whole time I got to watch my friend’s eyes light up with joy.

The rest of the day was a whirlwind of Jungle Cruise, Space Mountain, Big Thunder Mountain, and a delicious dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, Pinocchio’s Village Haus.We were very nearly dead on our feet by the time 9:45 rolled around, but we weren’t done yet – half of our group had never seen Celebrate the Magic or Wishes. As soon as the Electric Parade finished and the crowd dispersed from the side of Main Street to crowd around the castle, Amy and I (the two experienced cast members) lead the way to the left side of the castle for a super close and prime viewing location. I’ll admit, I probably got more emotional than any of the other staff members, but I can’t help it. No matter how many times I hear the music, see Walt’s face, or watch the burst of fireworks above the castle, I’m reminded of all the magic that Disney World stands for, and I remember that I’m home.

IMG_7596

…And as soon as the music ends I always make a dash to avoid the hoards of people streaming away from the castle. Right after Jiminy Cricket said his last words, the six of us grabbed hands and tore away as fast as we could toward Frontierland to beat the crowds for our last ride of the night – Splash Mountain. It’s a classic, and it’s practically a crime to go to Disney World and not ride it. Out of breath and panting for air we arrived in the 30 minute line, and did the best to psych ourselves up for the ride. We were tired, but that didn’t stop us from singing along and keeping all hands, arms, and legs inside the log at all times (especially Bailey, she’s good at rules and safety).
Satisfied that we had done everything, we made our way back to  our cars and home to bed. It might not have been the most restful day off, but we made magical memories to last a lifetime, and that’s what matters.IMG_6244

 

Leave a comment