Well, my Gratitude Series has finally come to a close. I’m so glad I decided to do this challenge, and for everything I’ve learned throughout its duration! I chose to begin this journey because I wanted to start off my adult life in a more positive and thankful way. While I may not feel 100% more thankful for my life now than I did at the beginning of the post, I do see some definite changes.

I’ve learned to give thanks for things I don’t always love. If you kept up with my posts you know I don’t really like winter or school. But I managed to write posts about each! I learned to look for the positives, and realize that there are good things to be found in most every situation, even when it’s not something I enjoy. It’s easy to get used to the great things we have in life and start complaining about the minuscule problems with them; however, taking a step back to remember the great privileges and opportunities you’ve had can make all the difference.

I’ve also learned the importance of giving thanks for the small things daily. Writing a blog post once or twice a week about something I’m grateful for does help my outlook on life some, but it’s the times when I take a minute or two to give thanks for three small good things that happened in the past 24 hours that I really feel good about life. Because when you think about it, it’s the small things that matter. It’s the little moments like getting to text a funny joke to your friend, or working with someone you don’t usually get to, or having time to read a book while you drink your coffee that make life great. Remembering those small moments at the end of the day fill me with so much more joy than the big things.

Lastly, I’ve enjoyed having an excuse to blog so much. Pushing myself to keep a deadline and post every week was so hard, but I’m glad I started the discipline! Having a consistent blog is something I’ve wanted for a long time, and after this challenge I feel like I’m on that track. I’ve grown so much as a writer, and while my posts may not be grand, I’m really proud of what I’ve accomplished.

So, where is this blog going now? Well, as I announced in my last post I’m going back to Disney World, so it only make sense that this blog will go with me! For the next couple of weeks between now and my move, I will be posting some magical throw backs to last summer. Once I get down there, be ready to follow some awesome adventures of magic and growth!

 

Leave a Reply

