I am almost done with the Gratitude Challenge Series! I am so proud of myself for sticking this out, and I am having so much fun writing it! My next blog post will contain a rather big announcement in it but for now, here’s some gratitude for my favorite holiday:

Christmas!

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing and indoorOh Christmas. Is it Christmas time yet? I know I just spent an entire blog post ranting about how much I love the Fall, but I think half the fun of fall is the anticipation of Christmas.

Just a few more weeks and all the Christmas music can start playing…

Granted I don’t always wait until Christmas time to play it. I turned on the Pentatonix Christmas albums a few weeks ago on my drive home from Houston to cheer me up. And when they came out with their Christmas album last year in October that was just cruel. There was no way I could wait a month and a half to listen to it.Image may contain: 9 people, people smiling, wedding

But that’s beside the point. Ever since I was a child my family and I would pull out our Christmas decorations the day after Thanksgiving. I would always wake up to Christmas music playing, Chex – Mix being made (it’s a Christmas food in our house), and decorations ready to be hung. The older we got the more I came to anticipate this, until I was the one pulling out the decorations and begging my family to let me put them up. Most children let their love of Christmas diminish as they grow up. Mine grew.

Even when I went to college I had the reputation in our house of always being overly excited about Christmas. Seriously, I’m like Buddy the Elf. I live-tweeted a series on my similarities to Buddy last year.

No automatic alt text available.

But, why do I love Christmas so much? Honestly, I think it’s a lot of the same reason I love Disney so much.

Christmas is a time to believe in magic again. 

It’s the one time of year everybody decides to be nice to each other because, hey it’s Christmas so why not? It’s when we all sit and watch movies about a jolly old man named Santa Claus, even thought we’ve all stopped believing in him, because who doesn’t want to go back to being a kid for a little while?

 

It’s also the time of year we get to celebrate the birth of Jesus. Logically the time of year we should celebrate Jesus the most should be Easter since that holiday is the foundation of the Christian religion. However, I feel like the love and magic that comes from the Christmas season is the work of Jesus. That touch of magic in the air, that feeling of peace that Christmas hymns can bring, that feeling of love when you’re surrounded by your family – it’s all the most positive things in the human experience.

I know Christmas isn’t the greatest time of year for everyone. I know there are a lot of people who associate that time of year with negative memories and don’t see the point of it. And I get that. But each person has their own things that they find joy in. This is mine. So every year I will be so grateful for Christmas.

No automatic alt text available.

Leave a Reply

