So, if you’ve known me for more than five seconds you know I’m a Christian. My whole being, all the way to my core is in love with Jesus, so when writing a post about a Core Value I’m grateful for, what else would I write about but Jesus? However, Christianity is such a big topic, I’m gonna narrow in my Core Value just a bit.

Two years ago I pledged a social club called Alpha Kai Omega. One of the things that drew me to it, was the love and passion they showed for Jesus in everything the did. As my time with them came to a close I was forced to attend an Alumni Ceremony that made me cry a lot, and one of my best friends got to speak for me about a virtue of the club I uphold.

As a club we have many virtues, but the one she chose for me was courage. I was shocked. I’d never thought of myself as courageous. Friendly? Yes. Loyal? Yes. Humble? Probably. But courageous? If I have make a phone call or walk up to someone I don’t know and talk to them, I usually chicken out and run the other way. But my best friend didn’t see me that way. She saw me as a courageous person, who was willing to graduate college with zero plans for my future, trusting only God to show me how to serve Him.

I was in awe. I’d never thought of it that way.

This past weekend I returned to ACU once again to watch my classmate walk across the stage and accept their diplomas. It was an exciting day for everyone, but once again, I felt the winds of change rocking me. For so long my family had been in Abilene, and even after I graduated I was never more that three and a half hours away from the people I loved. That changed when the class of 2017 moved out.

My friends and I will now be spread across the state and country (possibly the world?!?!) and none of our lives will ever be the same. It’s an exciting adventure, but it will take so much courage to step out into the world and find our way. And I’m terrified. So courage is what I’m working on right now. I still don’t see myself as courageous. But if other people do, I must be at least a little bit, right? Just like Joshua 1:9 says:

“Be strong and courageous, do not be terrified, do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

You can serve God wherever you’re at, even if you have no idea fb6what you’re doing with you’re life  (six months out of college I still don’t). So to the Class of 2017 and to myself – have courage. You are loved and cared for by the creator of the universe who sent His Son to die so that you could have a relationship with Him. God never leaves your side, and He will never stop loving you. Trust Him.

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” -A Silly Ol’ Bear

 

Leave a Reply

