This week’s topic is gratitude for something you’ve created. There’s not much I’ve created in my lifetime. I try to be crafty (the artsy kind, not the evil villain kind), but there’s just not a lot I’ve really done. But one thing I have created is this blog.

Guys. I am so freaking proud of this blog. 

It’s not like it’s the best thing on the internet. Believe me, I spend a ton of time on the internet, and there’s so much better out there (shout-out to those of you who choose to read my blog instead of the more interesting things on the internet). But this blog has meant so much to me. It’s been my journal the last three years of my life (albeit intermittently), and I love thinking about how much I’ve grown through each of these posts. This blog has gone with me to Thailand, on Study Abroad all across Europe, to Disney World two summers in a row, and now it’s helping me through the scary transition into adulthood. It’s full of my stories and memoirs, my thoughts, and I love that I have this creative space.

I’ve always had a passion for writing. I was almost an English major in college because of my love for it. Sometimes I wonder why I wasn’t. There’s something about sitting down and putting thoughts to paper (or internet) that is so relaxing. This blog has given me a second chance to explore writing my thoughts and what they mean to me. It’s grown me in so many ways, and I am so proud of it.

A lot of you have probably wondered about the name of the blog. “Apostellomai.” It’s a Greek word, the root of which being “apostello.” Sound like anything? An apostle maybe? Apostello is a verb meaning “I send,” and it is used over a hundred times in the New Testament, mostly by Jesus sending people out in his name. By changing apostello to it’s passive form, it now means

“I am sent.”

Okay, complicated Greek lesson over. But I truly believe that no matter where I go in life, I am being sent by God to love and serve Him, and to love and serve others. I believe God has sent me to write this blog, to share my stories, and learn on a better level what my life means. God sent me to Thailand, to England, to Disney, and every other place in between. And He sent me this blog to record it all so that through my sending I might glorify Him further.

That might sound weird. Being sent to write a blog. But I’m grateful God gave me the will and the space to do it. And even if the only person this blog is impacting is me, I’m still glad He sent me to write it. Because, while yes I have dreams about being internet famous, I have a bigger dream to serve God through my being.

So I’m grateful I created this blog.

I’m grateful for the purpose it serves, and I’m grateful for what it’s taught me.

unnamed (1)

Leave a Reply

