Today’s post topic is gratitude for the age your at, which for me is 22.

I’m grateful that I’m finally at an age that Taylor Swift has a song about.

That’s it. That’s my post about my age.

 

Okay, just kidding, obviously that would be a really shallow post. I’m grateful to be at an age where I still get to have adventures. Is it terrifying to not know exactly what my life’s going to look like in the next six months? Yes. Absolutely. But sometimes, it’s also exciting.

I’m young. I just graduated college. And if I want, I could take this free time – the time before I’ve settled down – to see the world. If I wanted to take a year of my life to go work at Disney World, I could do it. If I wanted to spend a year on mission on a different continent, I could do that too. I could do both! I’m not at a place where I have a big commitment to a job, or a family, and yes, one day I want both of those things. But I’m finally getting to a point in my life where I’ve realized I don’t need them quite yet.

I’m at an age of spontaneity. I can take weekend trips to visit my friends (if I have money), or I can take a day to relax and watch Netflix. I’m also still figuring out who I am. I’m experimenting in different jobs and seeing what fits. I’m looking into ministries I love, and hobbies I’ve always wanted to try, and I’m doing things I love. I’m realizing that even though I’ve graduated college and have a degree, I’m not locked into that career path for the rest of my life. I’m learning that it’s okay to still be growing and figuring out who I am.

Does being 22 make me feel old sometimes? Absolutely. I’m not a child anymore, and while some aspects of that are great, it also feels weird. I miss the days of imagination and of watching Disney movies on end without being judged (who am I kidding, I still do that). But in the wise words of Walt Disney:

growing-old-is-mandatory

I guess that’s why I celebrated my 22nd birthday at Disney World. When you turn 22 and immediately spend the day around the Little Mermaid and Disney Magic, it’s easy to remember that 22 doesn’t mean you’ve grown up. You can always be like Peter Pan and stay a child forever, no matter what your birth certificate says.

So if you’re in your 20s, you’re not old. You don’t have to know what you’re doing with your life. You can be heading in one direction and change your mind and go somewhere else. That’s alright. That’s what your 20s are for. Figuring things out. So go crazy! Be adventurous! Try out new things, and remember the advice of Peter Pan: Never Grow Up.

fb1
“So come with me where dreams are born, and time is never planned. Just think of happy things, and your heart will fly on wings forever in Never Never Land!”
fb2
“I knew who I was this morning, but I’ve changed a few times since then.”
fb3
Actual picture of me turning 22 and acting like a two year old.
Leave a Reply

