There are so many beautiful places to hang out in my hometown. Honestly, I think Austin is one of the greatest cities in the world. (But don’t move there. It’s too crowded. I hear Dallas and Houston are great.) The city is so full of hills and art, and hipsters with beards and man buns and tattoos, and of course – my favorite thing in the world – great coffee shops.

My favorite coffee place to go to hang out on weekends (or weekdays, let’s be real) is a little place called Mozart’s. It’s right next to the lake, so while you’re sitting drinking coffee, you have the absolute most beautiful view to stare at. Almost all of the seating is outside which means in the summer I’m sweating profusely, but in the winter they always have a fantastic light show that’s a must see. It’s one of my favorite Austin things to do. No matter what the weather is though, the coffee’s great.

I’ve had so many deep conversations with so many of my good friends there. Anytime

Image may contain: 2 people, closeup, outdoor and indoor
My friend who I don’t remember telling about Mozart’s

someone comes to visit me it’s always one of my top priorities to show them that place. My friend Grace actually begged me to show it to her because of how much my friends and I had raved about it. I don’t remember even mentioning the name to her, but I guess that’s how much I subconsciously love it.

Part of the reason the place is so special to me is because of all the memories I have there. It’s where I got coffee with my friends from Disney when they came through to visit. It’s where I grew deeper in faith and friendship with a couple of my best friends. It’s where my old roommate and I sat and caught up on life one night. It’s the first place I went to see all the friends I had made from my summer at Disney. There are a lot of places in the world that hold a special place in my heart, but this is one place where so many of my life paths have crossed, and it will always hold a dear place inside me for that.

So while almost every coffee shop I’ve ever visited has a special memory with it (drinking coffee, duh) Mozart’s is an extra special one because of everything surrounding it. Its beauty, its memories, and all the special people. I am so grateful to have had such a beautiful place to experience so many things, and I would not give up those memories for anything. When I think of my home in Austin, Mozart’s is almost always one of the first places I picture. If I ever go to another city I will be hard pressed to find a place as nice as Mozart’s.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling
The first time I had an Allergy Pride reunion at Mozart’s
Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling
The legendary Christmas show
IMG_7979
When our out of town Disney friends came and we vandalized to commemorate it
IMG_7980
Art on the wall that is also my mantra
Leave a Reply

