This post is hard, because this post is about self-esteem. “Write five things you like about yourself.” It would be a lot easier to write five things I DIDN’T like about myself. But don’t we all feel that way sometimes? Down on ourselves, like we’re not as good as we could be? I feel this way most of the time – but then I have to remember Psalm 139:13-14.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

God made no mistakes in making you or me. 

Everything from the physical parts of my body to the personality traits that I developed over the years God knew, and God created. So here we go:

  1. I like my hair. Okay, so I’m a ginger, I this one’s a given. I like that my hair is unique, I like that I’m people’s special “ginger friend.” I like that I’m easy to find in a crowd, or that if someone’s looking for me I can be pointed out as “that ginger one.” It makes me feel special. I don’t like the soulless jokes (unless I’m making them myself) but other than that, being a ginger makes me feel pretty awesome. So go out and hug your ginger today. We’re fun people.
  2. I like that I’m empathetic. Sometimes this means I cry at movies, or movie trailers, or after watching the new Beauty and the Beast trailer five times in a row…. But mostly it means I feel other people’s pain. If my best friend is hurting, I’m hurting. If someone I care about is going through a rough patch, it takes a toll on me, sometimes more than my own rough patches do. Maybe it comes from being an introvert, feeling the energy of another person and having it affect me so much. I love people deeply but because the way I love people is different, I show it differently.  I feel things, and I feel them deeply. I take on people’s burdens as my own. Sometimes more than I need to, but I never want to lose the part of myself that cares.
  3. I like that I think I’m funny. You might not think I’m funny. You probably haven’t laughed once at this blog post, whereas I’ve already laughed at least three times at my subtle yet hilarious jokes. I often find myself scrolling through my old tweets on Twitter and laughing my butt off at my own tweets more than I do anyone else’s tweets. I’m hilarious! And I don’t mind that other people don’t always think so. I mean, someone has to laugh at my jokes, right? And if it’s not gonna be my friends it might as well be me. My unique sense of humor keeps me going. If I’m having a crappy day, I can remember something funny I tweeted the day before and laugh at that. It always makes me feel better. I’d rather laugh at my not-funny self than never laugh at all.
  4. I love that I love Disney. (Did I mention I watched the new Beauty and the Beast trailer five times and teared up every time?) Some people make think it’s childish for someone in their mid-twenties to love Disney as much as I do, but in the wise words of Walt Disney:

“That’s the real trouble with the world. Too many people grow up.”

There are so many life lessons to be gleaned from Walt Disney and his movies. They teach children to go after their dreams, and follow what they believe in. And once they’re done with that, to find a new dream. That’s what Disney World, and Disney Magic do. Remind people what it’s like to be young and have a dream. You’re never to old to go after your dreams, or make a wish and do as dreamers do. That’s where the magic lives. When the young, and the young at heart come together and believe. Okay I know I sound like a cheesy Disney World commercial, but is there anything wrong with that? Anything wrong with the childish belief that you can do anything? If there is, then I definitely never want to grow up. And I’m proud of that.

5. I’m a nerd. A big one. I mean, I spent a good chunk of my last blog post talking about how my best friends and I mostly get along because of SuperWhoLock. Have you heard of it? No? That’s because you’re not a nerd. But just as I’m proud of my love for Disney, I’m proud that I can relate to fictional characters on such a deep level. I cry when Sam and Dean die, and rejoice when they come back. I morn with the Doctor when he loses a companion. I spent three years waiting with John Watson to see if Sherlock Holmes would ever return. Not only that, I raised my want to fight in the battle of Hogwarts, my bow to be victorious in the Hunger Games, and I carried a ring to Mordor with a hobbit. I’ve lived a thousand lives through my favorite characters, and I wouldn’t give up those adventures to be the coolest kid in the world. (Like, who is the coolest kid in the world? And, who cares about being the coolest person at your high school or college? That just means you peaked in your teens which sucks.) It’s like John Green says:

“Nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff. Nerds are allowed to LOVE stuff, like, jump-up-and-down-in-your-chair-can’t-control-yourself LOVE it. When people call people nerds, mostly what they’re saying is, ‘You like stuff,’ which is not a good insult at all, like, ‘You are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness.”

So there you have it. Yes, there are days I am so subconscious about myself and who I am. There are days I feel ugly and shy and the introvert in me comes out and wants to crawl in a hole and hide forever. There are days I put on make-up for no other reason than to hide what I actually look like. There are days I bite my tongue to hold back my Disney love and nerdiness, but I’m learning to embrace who I am. I’m learning to love my nerdy, funny, sometimes childish self.  And I invite each of you to do the same.

So, what are five things you love about yourself??

img_7882
Here’s a picture of me early in the morning before I put on make-up or washed my face, trying really hard not to care that it’s going on the internet.
Leave a Reply

