“You and I are sisters. Always remember that if you fall I will pick you up. After I finish laughing.” -Something I found on Google.

This actually happen to my sister and me one time. She was trying to do a high kick and fell over backwards instead. I knew it would be really mean of me to laugh, so I tried my absolute hardest to hold it in and see if she was okay – until I realized she was and then we both bust out laughing while I helped her up. I think we were both in elementary school at the time (neither of us are prone to trying high kicks anymore – although she probably still could) but it’s a story that makes me laugh every time I think about it. Every sister should have a story like that.

Krystal and I didn’t always get along growing up. In fact, I think most of our childhood was spent screaming at each other over toys, or how our pretend game was going to end, until we were both hoarse or one of our parents had to step in. Siblings can be hard to deal with. I know I wasn’t the perfect little sister, but as I grew up I realized God gave me a sister for a lot of reasons.

  1. My sister taught me how to love better. She and I have different love languages, which is probably part of what lead to our conflict growing up. Now that we’re grown up, however, we know how to cater to each other’s love languages and get along so much better. Her love language is quality time. Mine is wfb2ords of affirmation. Through this difference, however, she taught me that being the one to make the plans, or extend the offer of wanting to hang out can mean the world to someone. I’ve learned how to better love people because of this, and I really enjoy coming up with ideas for us to do when we hang out together! I just wished I had learned how to do this better before we both graduated college, or even high school. (And also that we had more time to hang
    out now.)
  2. She’s great at giving advice. From the time she was a toddler (slight exaggeration), I think my parents assumed she was going to be a lawyer because she was great at debating and talking her way into things. She ended up going into communications, which basically involves the same skills, just without having to constantly win or lose cases. Anyway, the point is my sister knows how to best communicate what’s on her mind, and explain to me what she thinks might be a good idea for me. (Remember in my last post when I said people are more likely to listen to you if you’re not their parent? Sisters fall in the category of people you’ll listen to instead.)
  3. She’s great at translating what I say to my parents. I’m a mumbler. I think it’s a younger sibling thing. But she somehow always knows what I’m saying. And even if the words are clear, but the meaning isn’t, she gets me. Everyone deserves a sister
  4. We have so many interests in common! Not all of them came out before I was in high school, but she gives the best advice on what shows to watch, books to read, and she is one of my all time favorite people to rant about both with. If a new Sherlock or Doctor Who is on, you’d better believe we’re freaking (read “geeking”) out about it.

So, I don’t say it enough, but I’m SO grateful for my sister. I’ve learned so much from her over the years, and I am fully aware that God knew what He was doing when He put her in my life. So if you have a sister (or brother) cherish her. Cherish the advice, the love, the lively debates, the disagreements, the teaming up against mom and dad just because you can, and remember that while friends may come and go, your sister will always be your sister. And I’m so glad for it.

 

PS If you hurt my sister know that I will be the first one in line to break your face.

 

Reminder: Here’s the link to the inspiration for my gratitude series!

 http://localadventurer.com/52-weeks-of-gratitude-challenge-complete/

2 thoughts on “Childhood to Adulthood – 4 Reasons Sisters Matter

Leave a Reply

